Lab Analyst Excellence Award
This award is for individuals that are employed in a laboratory facility, have direct responsibility for in-house or field testing of water or wastewater activities, and have not previously won the award.  The VWEA/VAAWWA Laboratory Practices Committee reviews the nominations and submits a ballot on their choice.  The Chair of the committee will notify the award winner and nominator by a congratulatory letter.  The awardee will be honored with a plaque presented at the Joint Annual Meeting (WaterJAM).


  • MEMBERSHIP – The candidate does not have to be a member of the Water Environment Federation at the time of nomination. The association will award membership to the winner if the awardee is not a current member.
  • EMPLOYMENT – The candidate must be employed at an industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory facility that conducts water and wastewater analyses.
  • RESPONSIBILITIES – The candidate must have direct responsibilities for analytical bench testing and/or field- testing of water or wastewater samples.
  • RECOGNITION – Only those who have not been recognized by this award before are eligible.  Non-winning nominees may be nominated again.  One nominee per facility per year.


  • INITIATIVE – The nominee must have shown initiative in pursuing innovative bench or field technique improvements.
  1. The nominee must have performed duties consistently as outlined by laboratory or field sampling/analytical methods.
  2. The nominee’s performance must demonstrate a commitment to high-quality control standards.
  3. The nominee must be conscientious about laboratory or field safety requirements.
  • ABILITY – The nominee’s abilities must include problem-solving.
  • PERSPECTIVE – The nominee’s perspective should be dutiful and conscientious.
  • PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT – The nominee’s actions should demonstrate a commitment to professional development; e.g. by maintaining active membership in professional associations and/or through continuing education.
The deadline for nomination packages is February 15, 2021.  It's never too early to nominate.  So don't let this recognition opportunity pass you by.
For more information and nomination forms, please contact:
Lea Brooks
Chesterfield County, Proctors Creek WWTP
1200 Coxendale Road, Chester, Va., 23836.
Phone: 804-768-7351
Fax: (804) 748-4692

Past Winners

2020    Shannon Labocki
2019    Sam Farag
2018    Hannah Thompson
2017    Kendra Surber
2016    Brandon Alexander
2015    Kerri Williams
2014    Rachel Young
2013    Lynn Lowder
2012    Maxine Burkett
2011    John DeRosa
2010    John Allen
2009    Reginald Morgan
2008    Lora Ann Reed
2007    Steven Marshal
2006    Gerry Shero
2004    Robert Maunz
2003    Amro Veun
2002    Lawanda Posey
2001    Cornelius Winfree, Jr.
2000    Gary Aheimer
1999    Jarrett Steer
1998    Robin Parnell
1997    Jane Saffriti
1996    Cynthia Bato
1995    Kim Mitchell