Creates the 14-member Commonwealth Flood Control Board (the Board) as a policy board in the executive branch of state government with various duties coordinating and implementing existing and new flood control programs and measures in Virginia, including flood control components of other state agency programs. The 10 non-legislative citizen members of the Board shall be appointed by the Governor to five-year terms, initially staggered as provided in the bill. The bill creates the Department of Flood Control (the Department) to assist in the administration of the Board's duties and to provide other technical expertise. The bill requires the Department to provide an annual report. Funding for the Department is provided in part by funds collected from the sale of credits pursuant to the RGGI program.
1/13/2021 Senate: Referred to ACNR