Herbert W. Evans, Jr. Distinguished Service
This award is given in recognition of the demonstrated activity of a member of AWWA who has contributed outstanding participation, counsel, and progressiveness to the Section for a period of no less than ten (10) years. The VA AWWA Board of Trustees selects the award recipient from among nominations received from the Section membership. Members are invited to submit nominations below by July 20th of each year.
This award, established in 1966 as the Distinguished Service Award, is given by the Section to acknowledge the demonstrated activity of a member of AWWA who has contributed outstanding participation, counsel, and progressiveness to the Virginia Section. In 1997, the Board of Trustees renamed the award in memory of a devoted AWWA member, Herbert W. Evans, Jr., who died in 1996.
Nominee Eligibility Requirements
  • Active participation within the Virginia Section for a period of not less than ten (10) years.
  • Participation and activity within the Virginia Section so deemed by the award committee as sufficiently outstanding to meet the "purpose" of the award.
  • The recipient may not be a current member of the Section Board of Trustees, except he or she may be a long-term member of the Board, i.e., Secretary or Treasurer.
Nomination or Submission Deadline
  • Selection of not more than one recipient annually may be made.
  • The award committee may, after due consideration, omit an award presentation in any calendar year. The Chair, Chair-Elect, Past Chair, AWWA Director, and Trustees (4) of the Section comprise the selection committee for this award.
  • Any member of the Virginia Section may propose one or more candidates via the nomination form. Such proposals shall be in writing and shall indicate the candidate's qualifications, and must be submitted below by July 20th of each year.
Method of Selecting Award Recipient
All nominations shall be in writing and shall indicate the nominee’s qualifications. The Section Executive Director will forward all nominations to the selection committee for review and evaluation. Only one selection for an award will be made annually, and then only if a qualified recipient exists.
Annually, if deserved.
Presentation of the Award
The Award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet during the VA AWWA Annual Meeting (WaterJAM).
To download a copy of the guidelines, click here

Past Winners

2021  Timothy A. Mitchell
2020  Dwayne Schwartz
2019   Beate M. Wright
2018   Rick M. DiSalvo
2017   Brian L. Ramaley
2016   H. Ali Mahan
2015   Cathy J. LaRue
2014   Russ Navratil
2013   Gary St. John
2012   Darlene Mormon
2011    Susan M. Watson
2010   Roy E. Covington
2009   Gary C. Schafran
2008  Michael L. Hotaling
2007   Clarence O. Warnstaff
2006   Lee W. Higgins
2005   Daniel B. Horne
2004   Sherry L. Williams
2003   Robert M. Gore
2002   Robert F. Canova
2001   Gerald W. Peaks
2000  R. Talmadge Piland
1999    Allen R. Hammer
1998   Millard P. Robinson, Jr.
1997    Gerald W. Higgins
1996    John P. Waters
1995    Billy H. Kornegay
1994    James B. Richards, Jr.
1993    Robert J. Etris
1992    Robert B. Taylor
1991    Hugh J. Eggborn
1990   Herbert W. Evans, Jr.
1989   Aubrey V. Watts, Jr.
1988   William H. Payne
1987   Warren J. Hunt
1986   James W. Givens
1985   Stuart P. Tansill
1984   Patrick J. Brady
1983   Floyd F. Eunpu
1982   Ray A. Jackson
1981    Oscar H. Adams
1980   W. Carle Thurston
1979    Paul H. King
1978   Howard A. Johnson
1977    Robert R. Peters
1976    Samuel M. Hodges
1975    James J. Corbalis, Jr.
1974    J. P. Kavanaugh
1973    H. Edward Lordley
1972    Bryant L. Strother
1971    Eugene Meredith
1970   Jack B. Ferguson
1969    Edward H. Ruehl
1968   Xenophon D. Murden
1967    Willard W. Anders