Small Systems

  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size

The Virginia Section AWWA is committed to the training and education of water systems of all sizes.  We realize, however, that small systems face unique challenges.  The tools, resources, and information listed are intended to keep small systems aware of everything available to them through the Virginia Section and AWWA. 

 Training opportunities:   (unique to small systems - See a full list of training events on the right)

For all FREE 2019 Small Systems Training opportunities, visit www.awwa.org/smallsystemstraining.

The following FREE webinar for small systems serving populations of 10,000 or less is made possible through a US Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) Grant and the Environmental Finance Center Network (EFCN). AWWA membership is not required; however, individuals must register for the event. 

Webinar: 
Jump-Starting Long-Term Planning and Setting Financial Targets

Tuesday, February 19, 2019
2:00PM-3:00PM EST

(1:00pm-2:00pm CST, 12:00pm-1:00pm MST, 11:00am-12:00pm PST)
Register Online

 

Long-term planning is important to the success of water systems. As the great sage Yogi Berra pointed out, “If you don't know where you are going, you'll end up someplace else.” This webinar will cover the key elements of different types of long-term plans, including where to begin when you’re just getting started. We will also discuss the results of the North Carolina Water and Wastewater Utility Management Survey conducted by the University of North Carolina’s Environmental Finance Center and the North Carolina League of Municipalities.

Presenter:  Carol Rosenfeld, Senior Project Director, Environmental Finance Center at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill



If you intend to join a webinar as a group, but would like to receive continuing education certificates, please be sure to register and attend

Who Should Attend:
Managers, owners, and operators of small water systems serving less than 10,000 people, including local government systems and tribal systems, as well as all other types of water systems, such as homeowners associations, mobile home parks, resorts/campgrounds, schools, prisons, and more.
Decision-makes for water utilities, including mayors, finance officers, utility managers, public works directors, city councilors, board members, tribal council members, and clerks.
Consultants and technical assistance proiders serving water systerms.


Questions? Contact us at smallsystems@syr.edu